Author Topic: The Airgun Gurus and their reviews  (Read 453 times)

steveoh

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3059
    • Airgun FPE Calculator
The Airgun Gurus and their reviews
« on: May 06, 2021, 02:04:14 PM »
I'm wondering about the Airgun Gurus and their Reviews on YouTube and elsewhere, and contemplating which of these Gurus get paid to do their reviews, and which ones get free airguns and other stuff, and how biased or not they are in their reviews.

Recently there was a plethora of reviews of the the FX M3 Impacts. Overnight they came out of the woodwork. There was a lot of super positive feedback and not a whole lot of negative feedback. Actually I'd be hard pressed to recall any griping what-so-ever.

I really don't care if the reviewers are making money or getting free 2,000 + airguns. They tend to work hard at giving us all new videos to watch and articles to read. But it would be more honest to disclose what their arrangements are, glowing reports or not.

What say you? Should the Airgun Gurus disclose their relationships with the companies that provide airguns to review?


  • Benicia, California
Quackenbush .58 Outlaw
Shooting Chairs
Vallejo Ferry Schedule
DAQ .458 LA Outlaw Rifle
DAQ .58 LA Outlaw Rifle
FX Streamline .25
Sam Yang Sumatra .25
Benjamin Bulldog .357
QB-79 .177
Crosman 1322
Crosman 1377 - HoRodded 10 FPE
Diana Model 27 (childhood airgun)
Tolman Skiff
Airgun Calculator

Capt45

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 427
  • Weihrauch HW30;Crosman Nitro Venom 22;Crosman 1377
Re: The Airgun Gurus and their reviews
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2021, 02:13:46 PM »
Sure.
  • Sedan
Weihrauch HW30 .177
Crosman Nitro Venom .22
Crosman Am. Classic 1377
Air Venturi AVENGER .22

Alan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3991
  • Set the example... Don't be one!
    • Mobile Amateur Radio
Re: The Airgun Gurus and their reviews
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2021, 02:49:25 PM »
Here is my take.

Three or four folks standout in the review world. Obviously Matt Dubber, and two of his buddies in South Africa are at the top of the list. Both Matt and Gerhardt got their Mk3s before anyone I know. That said, I also noted that Utah Airguns had videos posted before the actual FX announcement. I suspect most DID NOT get paid, but were allowed to receive airguns at a reduced price. Unfortunately, no one on this site even got a discount! However, there are a dozen or so guys who probably followed suit, with their reviews, just so they personally would look as important than the others. Although, I also believe that is a false sense of satisfaction.

I have been toying with buying the Mk3 version of the FX Impact, but two things have stopped me. One, a second regulator is already in the work for the Impact MK2. I ordered one, but the delivery is out about three weeks. And, the newer "bottle" is supposed to be rated at 300 BAR. If the truth be known, the original bottle could be safely pumped up to 300 BAR (most carbon fiber wrapped bottles can be without issues), the second regulator is probably the stumbling block. I have pumped up my Mk2 to 300 BAR, and everything worked as it should. Nonetheless, I think the second regulator will stop any long-term damage.

As for the other airguns out there. It is my firm belief, that just about every other airgun out there, isn't much more than a reboot of existing hardware. It is sort of like... How is it possible to out engineer an original Mouser design, yet make it unique? You can't! So we have an air container, a valve, a hammer to strike the valve, and some sort of cocking device. Bullpup stock aren't new. Combination Picatinny/11mm rails aren't new. And not much else is either. But...

Let's look at AirForce airguns. No one in the industry, has an axial-flow valve. If there is someone who has, I don't know about it. The same can be said for FX. While their FX Impact series have some sort of  unique features, they still stand alone as no one has even tried to duplicate any of their features. Who else can you thing of, with the magazine capacity of the Impact? So what else has come up?

I am all but appalled at the notice of having fully-automatic. PCP airguns! What possible use are they, except being an anarchist? AThe same can be said about look-alike CO2 pistols. They're worthless for anything except indoor take shooting, and even then, their similarity to the real things, is moot!

All I want to know is... Where are those talented engineers, who are in the process of designing something truly new? What we need is, another John Browning type who is interested in airguns!



  • Roswell, New Mexico
Alan

I have a Hill EC-3000 compressor. If you're a fellow Guild member, and you pass through Roswell, NM, I'll fill your tank as a courtesy (4,250 PSI limit).

Loren

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 440
    • Diamond Gun Stocks
Re: The Airgun Gurus and their reviews
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2021, 05:28:26 PM »
Another John Moses Browning is a very very tall order, just consider his designs are still relevant today.   

It's nice to get to see the new stuff via the Youtube fan boys, but it is clear they have created social media marketing businesses.

Good for them, but I certainly temper any purchasing decisions based on their advertising reviews.

I do give Steve at AEAC credit for showing is "clients" right up front in his videos.
  • Baldwin City KS

Motorhead

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 494
  • Older & Slower ... Field Target Shooter
Re: The Airgun Gurus and their reviews
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2021, 10:30:50 AM »
While I'm sure some solid information is known and shared ... come end of the day IMO there serving only those who pay or support the products reviewed / spoken of.

AKA: INFLUENCER of which the web has far too many of !
  • Old Hangtown ... California
"Home of Motorheads Air Gun Tuning Service"
    ***** Airguns need love too !! *****

Steelhead

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 892
    • Born Wild Shooting Chairs
Re: The Airgun Gurus and their reviews
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2021, 02:29:15 PM »
An age-old concept that we all have fallen victim to:

"Just because someone took the time to write about it, talk about, or film it doesn't make it true"

I'm just as gullible (although improving with age and countering it with cynicism)...I actually bought a Raptor.

I hate the term 'influencer'. It gives credence to people who think they know more than everyone else and more than anything love the sound of his or her own voice. Basically a politician with a camera instead of a law degree.

The airgun world has been surprisingly shady. I'm not going bring up old stuff, but several names that have been or still are on youtube making ridiculous long shots, shooting penned up exotics, or making false claims pertaining to products. I know for a fact that they are sponsored. There are several sketchy dudes active right now that are aligned with certain products that they miraculously 'switched' to.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2021, 02:30:48 PM by Steelhead »
  • Petaluma, CA
Airforce Texan .308
FX Impact MKII .25
Benjamin Discovery .22
Benjamin Prowler .177
Texan .50
Sam Yang 909s Light Hunter
Born Wild Shooting Chair
Air Venturi compressor

archerhmr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: The Airgun Gurus and their reviews
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2021, 07:11:52 AM »
I cannot say for the airgun industry. Now the archery industry I can talk about. Was heavily involved with them and still am a little for over 20 years. The question about the reviews. I talked to an archery product reviewer a number of years back. He said you cannot say anything negative or you will be done in the industry. So focus on the good aspects of the item and just do not mention something that is not good. I am sure this is the same with the Airguns. Ok I do have an Impact M3. I can say it is a little tighter and generally a better feel at the shot to me. Ok, so I changed the cocking handle to left side, I like that. I am left handed. Now what I can say, the trigger. The first stage is stiffer. I have played with it a bit, but not the results I had with my MK2 versions. We shall see. Is it more accurate. No, all the same as last guns. The biggest thing is the third regulator.
Anyway, yes reviewers do not cover things they do not like
Yes I like the new Impact, I liked the old trigger better.
  • Windsor, CA

Capt45

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 427
  • Weihrauch HW30;Crosman Nitro Venom 22;Crosman 1377
Re: The Airgun Gurus and their reviews
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2021, 08:12:45 AM »
An age-old concept that we all have fallen victim to:

"Just because someone took the time to write about it, talk about, or film it doesn't make it true"

I'm just as gullible (although improving with age and countering it with cynicism)...I actually bought a Raptor.

I hate the term 'influencer'. It gives credence to people who think they know more than everyone else and more than anything love the sound of his or her own voice. Basically a politician with a camera instead of a law degree.

The airgun world has been surprisingly shady. I'm not going bring up old stuff, but several names that have been or still are on youtube making ridiculous long shots, shooting penned up exotics, or making false claims pertaining to products. I know for a fact that they are sponsored. There are several sketchy dudes active right now that are aligned with certain products that they miraculously 'switched' to.

How about the term "paid shill".
  • Sedan
Weihrauch HW30 .177
Crosman Nitro Venom .22
Crosman Am. Classic 1377
Air Venturi AVENGER .22